Select Page

The NCAA basketball tournament is one of the best events in sports every year. Everyone loves watching small schools come out of nowhere to make deep runs in the tournament. The chaotic nature of March Madness makes winning a championship a truly special achievement. Just like every other sport, some college basketball champions are more memorable than others. These are the top five NCAA basketball champions of all time.

1981-82 North Carolina Tar Heels

Michael Jordan’s first season in a North Carolina uniform was the school’s top team. His game-winning shot in the championship game is still one of the most iconic moments in college basketball history. Jordan was joined by future NBA greats James Worthy and Sam Perkins on the championship team that went 32-2.

1971-72 UCLA Bruins

The 1971-72 Bruins were led by Henry Bibby, Keith Wilkes and Bill Walton. The team easily marched to the NCAA title with a perfect 30-0 record. UCLA won their games by an average of 32 points during the season. Few teams in the history of the sport were so dominant. UCLA repeated as undefeated champions the next year.

1975-76 Indiana Hoosiers

This is the last college basketball team to finish the year with an undefeated record. Unlike the other championship teams of the era, the 1975-76 Hoosiers won without any big superstars. Coach Bob Knight had his team play fundamental basketball and outwork the opponents to win games.

1995-96 Kentucky Wildcats

The 1995-96 Kentucky team is perhaps the deepest college basketball team of all time. The Wildcats had nine players on the roster that had lengthy NBA careers. Antoine Walker, Tony Delk and Ron Mercer were just a few of the great players on this team. Kentucky outscored their opponents by an average of 21 points in the NCAA tournament as they finished with a 34-2 record.

1967-68 UCLA Bruins

Lew Alcindor was easily the most dominant college basketball player to ever put on a jersey. Alcindor won three championships during his time at UCLA, but the 1967-68 team was the crowing achievement. The team’s only loss came without their star player against a Houston team led by Elvin Hayes. UCLA subsequently avenged this loss by defeating Houston by 32 points in the Final Four.